Tuesday 18 March 2014


Last week I fell in love with this song. Maybe I fell in lust with it. Maybe I just really liked it. Whichever it was, I wrote about it. It was called 'Destiny' and it was by a new artist called MELTY. Melty. I can imagine only cheese on toast, only croque monsieurs and madames, only dripping nacho gloop, only pizza-topping aching stretch.

Anyway… MELTY was kind enough to create a wonderful guest mix for me and, well, it's a celebration of bass and darkness and attitude and I think you'll like it.

A particular and nice surprise: Nestled between the overdistorted bass of Exhalted.'s 'VAPOURGRAVE 2001' and its creepy lo-fi vocal sample "There's no such thing as miracles…" ("…Or the supernatural, only cutting-edge technology" – sampling the speech of Revolver Ocelot from Metal Gear Solid 2), and the apocalyptic ghetto house track 'Bass rattle stars out the sky' (it's all in the name), is an exclusive from MELTY. Called 'Untitled' for the moment, it flutters with golden vocal samples against a bruised background of bass before pulsing with electrified waves of synth, lapping gloriously against your ears as the beat skitters addictively onward.

It ends with an explosive remix of 2PAC's 'Fuck Em All' by fellow Sydney-dweller, IMCHILD, which glides effortlessly into the shadowy creep of 'Get Yah Head Bust' by SpaceGhostPurrp. All in all, a mix that stuffs the trappish underground quakes of footwork, ghetto house (WHATEVER), into your ears like kilos of cheese into a bulging panino.

T R A C K L I S T :

  1. NGUZUNGUZU – Skycell
  2. Ryan Hemsworth – Slurring (Baauer Remix)
  3. Lil Ugly Mane – Cup Fulla Beetlejuice
  4. Exhalted. – VAPOURGRAVE 2001
  5. MELTY – Untitled (Unreleased)
  6. Death Grips – Bass rattle stars out the sky
  7. Lil Buddha – Return Of Jah
  8. 2PAC – Fuck Em All (IMCHILD Remix)
  9. SpaceGhostPurrp – Get Yah Head Bust

Like Melty on Facebook
Listen to Melty on SoundCloud

No comments:

Post a Comment